Dr. Fan Yang is a Fellow of the International Academy of the Belt and Road and a member of the Working Group on Dispute Resolution for the Belt and Road. She was called to the Bar of England and Wales in 2005. She specializes in international commercial and investment arbitration, cross-border mediation and dispute resolution, complex commercial contracts (including sale of goods, letter of credits and carriage of goods by sea), and international comparative commercial law, arbitration and dispute resolution particularly under the laws of England, Hong Kong and Mainland China.

She has arbitrated in English and Chinese (Putonghua and Cantonese). She has been appointed as an arbitrator under the ICC Rules of Arbitration (2012) and HKIAC Administered Arbitration Rules (2013), and has extensive experience in arbitrations under other leading institutional rules, as well as in ad hoc arbitrations in leading international seats including London, Hong Kong and Kuala Lumpur.

She is a listed arbitrator of the Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre and the Korea Commercial Arbitration Board. She is on the Panels of the Arbitrators and Mediators of the Kuala Lumpur Regional Centre for Arbitration and the Thailand Arbitration Centre. She is a CEDR and HKMAAL Accredited Mediator, and a Fellow and an approved faculty member of the CIArb.

She has published widely in a range of leading journals, including International and Comparative Law Quarterly (CUP) and Arbitration International (OUP). She is sole author of a substantial commentary and casebook (Vols.1&2) on Foreign-related Arbitration in China (CUP).

She has been teaching Chinese and international commercial law and arbitration at the School of Law of the City University of Hong Kong since 2009, and currently serves as the Director of the International Dispute Resolution Academy.

fan-yang's picture

Contact details

Areas of Practice

  • Memberships

    Task Force on Emergency Arbitrator Proceedings of the ICC Commission on Arbitration and ADR
    ICC-HK Arbitration and ADR Committee and its Nomination Subcommittee