David is a specialist in gambling, alcohol and entertainment licensing and is Head of the Licensing Team at Fraser Brown solicitors in Nottingham.

He trained at Nottingham City Council, joining private practice in 1981 and moved from a mixed civil practice to concentrate solely on licensing in 1996.

David represents national and local operators of alcohol and gambling premises in Great Britain.

He advises licensing authorities including acting as legal advisor to licensing committees.

He also provides advice to responsible authorities and others including representation at licensing hearings.

David is approved by the BIIAB to deliver the Award for Licensing Practitioners (Licensing), the Award for Licensing Practitioners (Gambling) and the Award for Personal Licence Holders.

He provides training to operators, licensing authorities (members, legal advisors and other officers) and responsible authorities on all aspects of licensing and gambling including specialist areas such as compliance, conditions, hearings and appeals.

David has also trained the assessors for the Best Bar None Scheme in Nottingham.

He has contributed to “Paterson’s Licensing Acts” (Butterworths) on the Licensing Act 2003 and the Gambling Act 2005 and to “The Licensing Act 2003” (Butterworths).

David is the chair of the East Midlands region of the Institute of Licensing and a member of the Board of the Institute.

He is the former chair of the Nottingham (Leisure) Business Improvement District and is a director of the current Nottingham BID.

David is listed as a notable practitioner in Band 1 in the latest edition of Chambers UK Guide which commends the strength of his interpersonal skills and his "gravitas in the licensing world".

David is also listed in the current Legal 500 which refers to him as being “vastly experienced, with an understated but huge knowledge of licensing law”.

david_lucas's picture

Areas of Practice

Local Government
  • Memberships

    Regional council of the BII
    Nottingham City Centre Pubwatch administration committee